The Commonwealth of Nations

The Commonwealth of Nations or usually well-known as The Commonwealth are those countries which are once under the ruling of The Britishers. The British Empire was once one of the largest Empires on the globe. It was one of the superpowers in-between from 1820 to 1950. It has much larger boundaries than compared to today. Many of the former British Empire countries are a part of the Commonwealth of Nations. The Queen is the head of these Nations.

The Commonwealth of Nations

Among below listed 45 states/countries many of them are independent and have their own constitutions and political governance. However, around 16 states/countries (The United Kingdom, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Jamaica, Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Solomon Islands, Barbados, Belize, Grenada, Papua New Guinea, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Tuvalu.) are the ones which are still ruled by the current Queen Elizabeth II.


The Commonwealth of Nations

Until the 1860 Empire territories under British governance, were receiving direct orders from London. After a decade Canada (due to its vast geographical boundary) was getting difficult to manage along with their territories. Hence they took a decision that made Canada a self-governing country. Besides, that would remain under the Empire. They allowed the country to create its own parliament, laws but it will have to govern under the British constitution.

After applying this role for Canada in 1867, Australia and New Zealand were followed with a similar fashion of governance in 1901 and 1907 respectively. But in  1926 the government had declared that norms will be applicable to all the empire’s territories and remain United under the Crown. Despite their own governance these countries allowed trade within but not outside with other countries proud without the permission of the crown. As time passed by 1931 New Zealand and Australia broke away from this law-abiding and independent State. Though these Nations become independent they couldn’t really do much anything about their monarchy and constitution.


By the end of the Second World War, the British Empire reached on the verge of bankruptcy. This was due to the limitation of its trade policy. On the other hand, the USA became a more preferable colony for the trade. By the end of 1949 British legal entity was replaced by the Commonwealth of Nations and that allowed India to join the club. And by the end of 1980 Canada, New Zealand, and Australia have taken control over their own constitution.

The Commonwealth of Nations

Today all former empire and territories ruled by British Empire, entitled to jointly Commonwealth of Nations. Once every 4 years these Nations hosts Commonwealth games (mini Olympic).

As on today, the current members of Commonwealth Nations are as follow. India,  Canada, Nigeria, Bangladesh, Australia, United Kingdom, Tanzania, South Africa, Uganda, Sri Lanka, Ghana, New Zealand, Singapore, Jamaica, Cyprus Fiji, Pakistan, Bahamas, etc. Commonwealth of the nation is the second-largest International Organization after the United Nations.


  1. Thank you for every other informative web site. Where else may just I am getting that type of information written in such a perfect manner? I’ve a challenge that I’m simply now operating on, and I’ve been on the look out for such information.

  2. I appreciate, cause I found exactly what I was looking for. You’ve ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Culture